Paperman screengrab challenge

Screen shot

I chose this shot in the short film because there was something about it that really appealed to me. Initially I really liked the framing of the picture with the flowers at the bottom in the foreground and the bright background that dims out the busy streets in the background. The frame seemed really pretty to me. I also really liked the lighting in the scene as the light casually bounces off the girls hair and her round cheeks.

I liked this particular frame because of the girls expression in the middle ground. As an individual who is interested in a career in animation I really appreciate when people animate life-like facial expressions. Because people are more complex than just smiles and blank faces. I felt like this frame really brought some personality to this girl and showed her quirky curiosity. This is the scene where the paper airplane catches her attention before flying off to have her chase it. So the way they animated her reaction to the paper airplane was really important even though the scene lasts only for about a second. I also really like that the only color in this whole short is the red from the girls lipstick and the lipstick stain on the airplane. It shows where the focus of the film is: the girl that possesses something about her that makes her stand out and the particular magical paper airplane that will lead her back to the boy.